Helpless Mom

Standard

Now that I am a mom, there are many times that I feel so helpless! Yet, I believe the journey to motherhood is intended to make us feel this way, so we become dependent on God from the start. If this is true, why is it so hard to let go and do?

Though it is innate for women to be caretakers and nurturers, motherhood causes one to learn a deeper lesson about life, faith, obedience, and unconditional love. And because of this, God knew the way to get a woman’s attention would be through her children.

During this past year, my daughter was facing daily bullying at school. When I first heard about it and saw her sadness over the incidents, my first reaction was to confront the bullies or take her out of the school. Yet, how would doing those things help her or the situation? Instead, I had to pray, calm down, and realize my weaknesses. Also, I had to let go and trust God by releasing my daughter to Him even though it was so difficult.

I guess this is what it means to be an intentional mom. She is one who understands that if God allows difficulty to enter a child’s life, He will use it. Though my daughter had to face a difficult time at school, I know God used the time develop her character, patience, and faith. This was a time for God to work in the life of my daughter and for me to role model a faith in God that would make Him real to her. As 2 Corinthians 1:9-10 states, “We stopped relying on ourselves and learned to rely only on God…We have placed our confidence in him, and he will continue to rescue us.”

About JulieJK

After Julie had her first child in 2004, she felt God was calling her into ministry to be a Children's Minister. She feels blessed to be part of such a supportive church community that not only financially supported her education as a seminary student at Moody Theological Seminary, but has also provided endless discipleship, counseling, and encouragement. Julie has been married for eleven years and has two beautiful children. She considers both children a gift from God and acknowledges that parenting takes a lot of prayer and wisdom. When she is not sweating out pages for her book, she enjoys spending time with friends, reading a good book, and drinking lots of coffee.

Leave a Reply

